Subscribe in a reader Facebook page Follow me


The General Assembly: 

The highest policy making body of the Association is the Annual General Assembly composed of Chief Executives of member airlines. The Annual General Assembly is presided over by the President of the Association. Mr. Mohamed Salah Boultif, Chief Executive Officer of Air Algerie, is the President of the Association for 2014. In this capacity, Mr. Salah Boultif and Air Algerie will host the 46th AGA in Algiers, Algeria, from 09-11 November 2014.

Mr. Mohamed Salah Boultif,
2014 President of AFRAA and CEO of Air Algerie

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, composed of 12 members elected on a sub-regional basis among Chief Executives and ex-officio members with voting rights who are members of the IATA Board of Governors, exercises executive authority. Its function is to ensure supervision of the affairs, funds and property of the Association and formulation and determination of policies within the framework of Articles of Association, By-Laws and Resolutions adopted by the General Assembly.

Mr. Monwabisi Kalawe, 
Chairman of AFRAA Executive Committee
and CEO, South African Airways

The Executive Committee membership for 2014 is as follows: 

Mr. Mohamed Salah Boultif
President of the Association & CEO of Air Algerie
Capt. Sameh Elhefny
Chairman & CEO, EgyptAir Holding Company
Mr. Monwabisi Kalawe
Chairman of the Executive Committee & CEO of South African Airways
Mr Abubaker Alfortia 
General Manager of Afriqiyah Airways 
Mr. Abderahmane Berthe,
1st Vice Chairman of the Executive Committee & CEO of Air Burkina
Mr. Yissehak Zewolde
Mr. Abd Elmahmoud Suleiman
2nd Vice Chairman of the Executive Committee & CEO of Sudan Airways
Mr. John Mirenge,
CEO of RwandAir
Mr. Tewolde Gebre-Mariam
CEO of Ethiopian Airlines
Mrs. Fatima Beyina-Moussa
CEO of ECAir
Dr. Titus Naikuni
CEO of Kenya Airways
Dr. Joaquim Teixeira da Cunha
CEO of TAAG Angola


The Secretariat

The Secretariat serves as the administrative, co-ordination and research centre for the Association. It is headed by a Secretary General who is responsible for managing the day-to-day activities of the Association. In carrying out his duties, he is supported by a staff of four senior officers as listed below:

Secretary General      Dr. Elijah Chingosho  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.     
Director Commercial, Corporate
& Industry Affairs
Deputy Director, Corporate Finance and Administration Mrs. Juliet Indetie This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Business Development Manager  Ms. Maureen Kahonge This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.